Life Lessons from Movies

Trekkies

In Documentary, Movies on December 31, 2012 at 6:00 AM

Trekkies (1997) is a humorous documentary by director Roger Nygard about fans of Star Trek, a long-running, multi-generational, science-fiction, television series.

Life Lesson:

If you love something, there are others out there just like you.

Movie Scene:

On Screen: “‘Trekkies’ are the only fans listed by name in the Oxford English Dictionary.”

Majel Barrett Roddenberry (Nurse Chapel): “If you go someplace, like into a convention, and you don’t have any friends there, you don’t know anybody there — you really do because they’re all thinking, somewhere along the line, they’re thinking like you are.”

Convention Attendee: “My family thinks I’m the odd one of the family. They think I’m totally weird, but I found this club, and I found out I’m not the only one. So I guess I’m not so weird after all.”

Leave a Reply

