Life Lessons from Movies

Muriel’s Wedding

In Comedy, Movies on January 5, 2013 at 3:27 AM

Muriel’s Wedding (1994) is a coming of age comedy written and directed by P.J. Hogan about Muriel (Toni Collette), a bullied social outcast that runs away from her small hometown to live in the big city with a friend who helps her accept herself and mature into a more responsible and less self-centered adult.

Life Lesson:

A good friend can make all the difference in your life.

Movie Scene:

Muriel’s friend, Rhoda (Rachel Griffiths), is diagnosed with spinal cancer, which means that she is confined to a wheelchair and may never walk again.

Rhoda: “How can you stand this? You push me around in this chair. You cook for me. You even help me dress. I hate it.”

Muriel: “When I lived in Porpoise Spit, I’d just stay in my room for hours and listen to ABBA songs. Sometimes I’d stay in there all day. Since I’ve met you and moved to Sydney, I haven’t listened to one ABBA song. That’s because now my life’s as good as an ABBA song. It’s as good as Dancing Queen.”

Leave a Reply

