Life Lessons from Movies

Pretty in Pink

In Drama, Movies on January 6, 2013 at 10:14 PM

Pretty in Pink (1986) is a drama directed by Howard Deutch and written/produced by John Hughes about Andie Walsh, an independent, essentially parent-less teen from the poor side of town, who is caught in a love triangle that forces her to rise above social pressure and prejudice.

Life Lesson:

“Feel the fear and do it anyway.”

Susan Jeffers

Movie Scene:

Andie: “It’s okay. I’m gonna go [to the prom].”

Dad: “Alone?”

Andie: “Yeah, I’m not sad about it. I’m not hurt. I mean, you know, I am hurt a little bit. But I know if I don’t do it, I’ll just feel a lot worse. I’m just gonna go in, walk in, walk out and come home.”

Dad: “You sure?”

Andie: “I just want to let them know that they didn’t break me.”

Leave a Reply

