Life Lessons from Movies

The School of Rock

In Comedy, Movies on March 5, 2013 at 9:25 AM

The School of Rock (2003) is a comedy directed by Richard Linklater about Dewey Finn (Jack Black), a lazy, self-centered, amateur musician who impersonates a teacher, Ned Schneebly (Mike White), and enlists his students to compete in a Battle of the Bands.

Life Lesson:

Do what you love because you love it. Even if you are not very good at it, you can find a way to fit it into your life.

Movie Scene:

Dewey: “Look, I’m sorry, dude. I was desperate. You can’t understand. It was easy for you to give up music. It ain’t easy for me.”

Ned: “It wasn’t easy for me. I miss it.”

Dewey: “Well, then why’d you give it up?”

Ned: “Because I couldn’t keep kidding myself anymore. You can blame it all on bad luck, but in the end, maybe we just weren’t that good. Sometimes you gotta know when to quit.”

Dewey: “ …Well, music is my life man.”

  1. “My dear,
    Find what you love and let it kill you.
    Let it drain you of your all. Let it cling onto your back and weigh you down into eventual nothingness.
    Let it kill you and let it devour your remains.
    For all things will kill you, both slowly and fastly, but it’s much better to be killed by a lover.
    ~ Falsely yours”

    ― Charles Bukowski

Leave a Reply

