Life Lessons from Movies

Moonstruck

In Comedy, Movies on April 29, 2013 at 10:35 AM

Moonstruck (1987) is a comedy directed by Norman Jewison about Loretta Castorini (Cher), a widow who falls in love with her fiancé’s brother, Ronny (Nicolas Cage), when she invites him to her wedding.

Life Lesson:

Let go of old resentments: You’ll feel better.

Movie Scene:

Ronny: “You’re going to marry my brother Johnny … I have no life.”

Loretta: “Excuse me?”

Ronny: “I have no life. My brother Johnny took my life from me … And now he’s getting married. He has his. He’s getting his. And he wants me to come. What is life? … They say ‘bread is life.’ And, and I bake bread, bread, bread, and I sweat, and shovel this stinking dough in and out of this hot hole in the wall and, and I should be SO happy, huh, sweetie? You want me to come to the wedding of my brother Johnny? Where’s my wedding? … Do you know about me? Ok, nothing is anybody’s fault, but things happen. Look: This wood is fake. Five years ago I was engaged to be married and uh, and Johnny came in here, and he ordered bread from me, and I said, ‘oh ok, some bread’ and I put my hand in the slicer and it got caught ’cause I wasn’t paying attention. The slicer chewed off my hand, and it’s funny ’cause when my fiancé found out about it, when she found out that I had been maimed, she left me for another man.”

Loretta: “That’s the bad blood between you and Johnny? … But that’s not Johnny’s fault.”

Ronny: “I don’t care! I ain’t no freaking monument to justice. I LOST MY HAND. I LOST MY BRIDE. JOHNNY HAS HIS HAND. JOHNNY HAS HIS BRIDE. YOU WANT ME TO TAKE MY HEARTBREAK, PUT IT AWAY, AND FORGET?”

Loretta: […] “What’s the matter with you? I mean, you think you’re the only one who ever shed a tear?”

Leave a Reply

