Life Lessons from Movies

Stuck on You

In Comedy, Movies on May 29, 2013 at 1:35 PM

Stuck on You (2003) is a comedy directed by Bobby Farrelly and Peter Farrelly about conjoined twins, Bob (Matt Damon) and Walt (Greg Kinnear) Tenor, who travel from Martha’s Vineyard to L.A. in order to pursue an acting career.

Life Lesson:

Find what you love to do most — and do it.

Movie Scene:

Walt: “I wanna be an actor.”

Bob: “Oh, yeah. Of course. Look I’m sorry, man. I know I freaked out yesterday, but I’ll go onstage with you again next year. You can even sing if you want. I’d never stop you from doing that.”

Walt: “No, no, no. I mean I wanna be a real actor. I wanna move to Hollywood.”

Bob: “What?”

Walt: “Hey, hey, hey. I think I got the chops for it. You saw those people last night. They were moved. I got to them.”

Bob: “Come on, those were your friends.”

Walt: “What’s that supposed to mean?”

Bob: “Look, I just meant: Look man, we’re from Martha’s Vineyard, okay? You know, people here, we’re lifeguards and fishermen. We own restaurants. We do not star in movies. … Okay, look, I’m going to put it to you this way: who were the last conjoined twins who were nominated for an Oscar?”

Walt: “Whoa, whoa, whoa. I can’t believe I’m hearing this from you of all people. Hey, isn’t that what people told us our whole lives? That we couldn’t do what normal people did. Never stopped us before. … Three months: we go out there, we give it a try, we see how it works out. If it doesn’t, we come home, but at least I’ll be happy because I know that we tried.”

Bob: “Okay, Hollywood. But you’re going to owe me big time for this.”

  1. This is one of my favorite movies – I love actors Greg Kinnear & Matt Damon. That is a good life lesson, to do what you love. Another life lesson – be careful what you wish for, the grass is not always greener. They thought their lives would be better separated, but in the end they found that is not what they really wanted.

Leave a Reply

