Life Lessons from Movies

Legally Blonde

In Comedy, Movies on August 27, 2013 at 9:35 PM

Legally Blonde (2001) is a comedy directed by Robert Luketic about Elle Woods (Reese Witherspoon), a college student who enters Harvard Law School in an effort to win back her ex-boyfriend, Warner (Matthew Davis), who broke up with her because she didn’t fit his elitist image of a future senator’s wife.

Life Lesson:

Learn to see the potential in yourself and in others.

Movie Scene:

Elle: “I feel like we barely get to see each other since we’ve been here.”

Warner: “Oh, I know. I’m so busy with these case studies and hypos.”

Elle: “I know what you mean. I can’t imagine doing all this and Callahan’s internship next year. That’s gonna be so much.”

Warner: “Oh, Elle, come on. You’re never going to get the grades to qualify for one of those spots. You’re not smart enough, sweetie.”

Elle: “Wait, am I on glue, or did we not get into the same law school, Warner?”

Warner: “Well, yeah. But–”

Elle: “But what? We took the same LSATs, and we’re taking the same classes.”

Warner: “I know, but come on Elle, be serious. You can do something more valuable with your time.”

Elle: “I’m never going to be good enough for you, am I?”

  1. The ex-boyfriend, Warner, obviously does not see the potential Elle has, not while they were dating, and not after she gets accepted to the same competitive law school as he. But Elle also has to learn to see the potential in herself even though nearly everyone around her dismisses her.

  2. In the quote above, “am I on glue?” means something like “am I intoxicated? am I crazy? am I on drugs?” She is expressing her confusion upon hearing that even though she performed equally well as Warner, he thinks that she is inferior.

Leave a Reply

