Life Lessons from Movies

View from the Top

In Comedy, Movies on September 18, 2013 at 2:20 PM

View from the Top (2003) is a comedy directed by Bruno Barreto about Donna Jensen (Gwyneth Paltrow), a woman from a small town without many future prospects who follows the advice of an ex-flight attendant and motivational speaker, Sally Weston (Candice Bergen), to start a new life.

Life Lesson:

Know that you are valuable, so don’t settle for less, even if others are trying to keep you down.

Movie Scene:

Sally Weston: “And there I was with garbage in front of me, the worst moment of my life, and I thought, ‘what am I going to do?’ And for a second I was real scared because ever since I was a little girl all I ever heard from people was you are nothing and nothing is what you deserve.  But that night something clicked, and I knew, I just knew, I was worth something… No matter how much I loved that sleepy little town, none of my dreams were waiting down there, they were waiting up there [pointing to the sky]. And frankly people, no matter where you’re from, no matter who people think you are, you can be whatever you want. But you got to start right now, right this second in fact.”

Donna: “But how?”

Sally Weston: “You should start by buying my book.”

Leave a Reply

