Life Lessons from Movies

The Bridges of Madison County

In Drama, Movies on October 17, 2013 at 7:15 PM

The Bridges of Madison County (1995) is a drama directed by Clint Eastwood, based on the book by Robert James Waller, about a four day love affair between a National Geographic photographer, Robert Kincaid (Clint Eastwood), and an Iowa housewife, Francesca Johnson (Meryl Streep).

Life Lesson: Sometimes you have to accept things as they are, not as you wish them to be. Movie Scene: Francesca: “It is quiet. And the people are nice. In certain ways. You know, we all help each other out. If someone gets sick or hurt, all the neighbors come in. They pick the corn or harvest the oats, or whatever needs to be done. If you go into town, you can leave your car unlocked and let the kids run around. Don’t worry about them. There are a lot of nice things about the people here. And I respect them for those qualities. But…” Robert: “But?” Francesca: “Well, it’s not what I dreamed of, as a girl.” Robert: “You know I scribbled something down the other day. I often do that when I’m out on the road. Kind of goes like this: ‘The old dreams were good dreams. They didn’t work out, but I’m glad I had them.’ […] Anyway, I think I know how you feel.”

  1. There is so much melancholy in this quote: “The old dreams were good dreams. They didn’t work out, but I’m glad I had them.” It’s very similar to the saying,”Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” There is sadness, but also acceptance, and even gratitude for having experienced something wonderful, if only for an all too brief moment.

Leave a Reply

