Life Lessons from Movies

The Secret Garden

In Drama, Movies on November 20, 2013 at 5:45 PM

The Secret Garden (1993) is a drama based on the book by Frances Hodgson Burnett and directed by Agnieszka Holland about Mary Lennox (Kate Maberly), an orphaned ten-year-old girl who goes to live at her uncle’s estate, where she meets her sickly cousin, Colin Craven (Heydon Prowse), and finds an overgrown hidden garden, both of which she restores to health.

Life Lesson:

Don’t let other people determine what you do with your life.

Movie Scene:

Mary: “At least we can open the windows.”

Colin: “No! Get away from there! Don’t touch them. They’re nailed shut. My lungs – they can’t take the spores.”

Mary: “Spores?”

Colin: “They’re carried in on the wind. And when you breathe the air, you swallow them. They get stuck in your lungs.”

Mary: “But before I got out into the wind, even my hair was scrawny.”

Colin: “You’re hair? Hair is dead.”

Mary: “If hair is dead, then how come it keeps on growing even after you die? Well, maybe not your hair. By then you might be bald.”

Colin: “Don’t be stupid. I’ll be dead before I’m old enough to be bald. I’ll get a lump on my back like my father. Then I’ll die.”

Mary: “I hate the way you talk about dying.”

Colin: “Everyone thinks I’ll die.”

Mary: “If everyone thought that about me, I wouldn’t do it.”

Leave a Reply

