Life Lessons from Movies

The Family Man

In Drama, Movies on January 8, 2014 at 8:00 PM

The Family Man (2000) is a drama directed by Brett Ratner about Jack Campbell (Nicolas Cage), a very successful and wealthy investment broker who gets a glimpse into the life he might have had had he made the decision to stay with his girlfriend, Kate Reynolds (Téa Leoni), thirteen years before, instead of remaining a bachelor.

Life Lesson:

The choices you make have a lasting effect on the rest of your life.

Movie Scene:

Kate: “I think about it too. I do. I wonder about what kind of life I would have had if I hadn’t married you.”

Jack: “And?”

Kate: “And then I realize I’ve just erased all the things in my life that I’m sure about: you and the kids.”

Jack: “Good things.”

Kate: “Yeah. What are you sure about?”

Jack: “I’m sure that right now, there’s nowhere else I’d rather be than here with you.”

  1. Another quote from the movie that reflects the importance of the choices you make on the outcome of your life:

    Arnie (Jack’s friend): “Look, you know, you fit the profile exactly — in your 30s, house, kids, financial responsibilities. You start thinking, this isn’t the life I dreamt about.’ Where’s the romance, you know. Where’s the joie de vivre? […] All right, sometimes it feels like you gave up the whole world. I know that. But look what you got. Look at that: four bedrooms, two-and-a-half baths, a partially finished basement. And good kids. Look, you know what? You probably don’t want to hear this right now, but remember last summer when I almost had that thing with Arnie, Jr.’s speech therapist? You remember what you said to me? You said, ‘don’t screw up the best thing in your life just because you’re a little unsure about who you are.’ Okay?”

Leave a Reply

