Life Lessons from Movies

While You Were Sleeping

In Comedy, Movies on February 2, 2014 at 5:50 AM

While You Were Sleeping (1995) is a comedy directed by Jon Turteltaub about Lucy Eleanor Moderatz (Sandra Bullock), a lonely subway tollbooth collector who rescues a man, Peter Callaghan (Peter Gallagher), that falls on the train tracks and then pretends to be his fiancé while he is in a coma.

Life Lesson:

Sometimes things don’t turn out as planned.

Movie Scene:

Lucy [talking to Peter]: “It’s just that, you know, when I was, when I was a kid I always imagined what I would be like, or where I would be, or what I would have when I got older. And, you know, it was the normal stuff. I’d have a house and family and things like that. Not, not that I’m complaining or anything, because, you know, I have, I have a cat. I have an apartment. Um, sole possession of the remote control. That’s very important. It’s just, I never met anybody that I could laugh with, you know? Do you believe in love at first sight? Nah, I bet you don’t. You’re probably too sensible for that. Or have you ever like seen somebody and you knew that if only that person really knew you, they would, well, of course, dump the perfect model that they were with and realize that you were the one that they wanted to just grow old with. Have you ever fallen in love with somebody you haven’t even talked to? You ever been so alone you spend the night confusing a man in a coma?”

Leave a Reply

