Life Lessons from Movies

Saving Mr. Banks

In Drama, Movies on May 27, 2015 at 2:50 PM

Saving Mr. Banks (2013) is a drama about Walt Disney’s (Tom Hanks) attempt to adapt P.L. Travers’ (Emma Thompsonbook, Mary Poppins, into film.

Life Lesson:

Overcome your past.

Movie Scene:

Walt: “I was, uh, I was eight back then, just eight years old. And, like I said, winters are harsh. And old Elias, well, he didn’t believe in new shoes until the old ones were worn though. Honestly, Mrs. Travers, the snowdrifts, sometimes they were up over my head. And we’d push though that snow like it was molasses – the cold and wet seeping through our clothes and our shoes, skin peeling from our faces. Sometimes I’d find myself sunk down in that snow, just waking, because I must have passed out or something. I don’t know. And then it was time for school, and I was too cold or wet to figure out equations and things. And then it was right back out in the snow again to get home just before dark. Mother would feed us dinner, and then it was time to go right back out and do it again for the evening edition. ‘You’d best be quick there Walt. You’d better get those newspapers up on that porch and under that storm door. Poppa’s gonna lose his temper again and show you the buckle end of his belt, boy.’ I don’t… I don’t tell you this to make you sad, Mrs. Travers. I don’t. I love my life. I think it’s a miracle. And I love my dad. He was a.. He was a wonderful man. But rare is the day when I don’t think about that eight-year-old boy delivering newspapers in the snow, and old Elias Disney with that strap in his fist. And I am just so tired, Mrs. Travers. I’m tired of remembering it that way. Aren’t you tired too, Mrs. Travers? Now we all have our sad tales, but don’t you want to finish the story? Let it all go and have a life that is not dictated by the past?”

  1. Great film. I like your blog idea, it is very catchy and most pertinent with how I view films – they can always teach us something about life and most importantly, a new perspective on how we should, or could, view the world. I look forward to keeping in touch! Keep posting! Charlie.

Leave a Reply

