Life Lessons from Movies

House of Sand and Fog

In Drama, Movies on October 9, 2022 at 8:15 PM

House of Sand and Fog (2003) is a drama co-written and directed by Vadim Perelman, based on the book by Andre Dubus III, about Kathy Nicolo (Jennifer Connelly), a California woman who loses her house because of a mistake by the local government office, and then fights to get it back from the Iranian immigrant family that bought it from the county.

Life Lesson:

“Every thing you love is very likely to be lost, but in the end, love will return in a different way.”

Franz Kafka

Movie Scene:

Kathy: I miss my dad. He worked really hard for that house. It took him thirty years to pay it off. And it took me eight months to f*** it up.

Deputy Sheriff Burdon (Ron Eldard): Hey. Hey. Come here. We’re going to get your house back. Soon. When this is all done, I promise, I’ll move you back in myself.

Leave a comment