Life Lessons from Movies

Joe Versus the Volcano

In Comedy, Movies on December 4, 2022 at 2:15 PM

Joe Versus the Volcano (1990) is a comedy written and directed by John Patrick Shanley about Joe Banks (Tom Hanks), an unhappy man who is told he only has a few months to live and agrees to be payed a lot of money to jump into a volcano so he can die doing something brave, and thus “live like a king; die like a man.”

Life Lesson:

To live your life well, do what you’re afraid to do.

Movie Scene:

Joe: What’s the matter?

Angelica (Meg Ryan): Did you ever think about killing yourself?

Joe: What? Why would you do that?

Angelica: Why shouldn’t I?

Joe: Because some things take care of themselves. They’re not your job. Maybe not even your business… I like your poem.

Angelica: I’m a grown woman and I live on my father’s money. That restaurant that had my painting up, that’s my father’s restaurant.

Joe: Listen to me. If you have a choice between killing yourself and doing something you’re scared of doing, why not take the leap and do the thing you’re scared of doing?

Angelica: You mean stop taking money and leave L.A.?

Joe: You see? You know what you’re scared of doing. Why don’t you do it? See what happens?

Leave a comment