Life Lessons from Movies

How Green Was My Valley

In Drama, Movies on May 26, 2023 at 9:45 AM

How Green Was My Valley (1941) is a drama directed by John Ford, based on the novel by Richard Llewellyn, about the struggles and triumphs of a Welsh coal mining family as told through the eyes of their youngest son, Huw Morgan (Roddy McDowall).

Life Lesson:

Death does not end love.

Movie Scene:

Huw: Memory. Strange that the mind will forget so much of what only this moment has passed and yet hold clear and bright the memory of what happened years ago, of men and women long since dead. Yet who shall say what is real and what is not? Can I believe my friends all gone when their voices are still a glory in my ears? No, and I will stand to say no and no again, for they remain a living truth within my mind. There is no fence nor hedge around time that is gone. You can go back and have what you like of it, if you can remember. So I can close my eyes on my valley as it is today, and it is gone, and I see it as it was when I was a boy. Green it was and possessed of the plenty of the earth. In all Wales, there was none so beautiful.

Leave a comment