Life Lessons from Movies

Brian Wilson: I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times

In Documentary, Movies on June 18, 2023 at 10:00 PM

rigged2016

Brian Wilson: I Just Wasn’t Made for These Times (1995) is a documentary directed by Don Was about the life of musical genius Brian Wilson, who was one of the founders and the lead songwriter for the famed American rock band, The Beach Boys.

Life Lesson:

You don’t need to be happy all the time.

Movie Scene:

Brian: [Singing lyrics from “Meant For You”] As I sit and close my eyes, there is peace in my mind, and I’m hoping that you’ll find it too. And these feelings in my heart I know are meant for you. […] Danny Hutton and his group [Three Dog Night], he has a record called, “My Impersonal Life.” In that song he goes, “be still and know that everything’s alright.” Oh, wow, I like that. That’s what I need, you know. I’m never ever still, always in turmoil, you know, hoping that somebody will save me or someone will come along and save my life or save my day.

Leave a comment